Kathmandu, Nepal, 21-04-2014


The Surya Nepal Pvt. Ltd. Masters tees-off from April 22nd at the Gokarna Forest Golf Resort in Kathmandu, Nepal. The 21st edition of the tournament boasts of the richest prize money ever seen in the history of golf in Nepal with a total prize fund of NPR 4.8 Million (INR 30 Lacs). While the main event will be played from 23-26 April 2014, the Surya Nepal Pvt. Ltd. Pro-Am will raise the curtains on the 22nd of April.

The coveted event which is co-sanctioned by the Nepal Professional Golfers Association and the Professional Golf Tour of India (PGTI) will comprise of 33 Nepalese professionals and 86 from the PGTI Order of Merit (Rolex Rankings) whose members have travelled from India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. The event is sponsored by Surya Nepal Private Limited under its CSR initiative Khelparyatan which focuses on “creating enduring value through sports and tourism“. With the Nepal Government prioritizing Tourism development, SNPL’s focus has been on promoting Golf Tourism which has great potential for revenue generation for the country. 
The winner will walk away with a booty of NPR 775,920 while the second placed player will be richer by NPR 535,920. The third-placed player will gain NPR 300,720 while the players finishing in the fourth and fifth position will get NPR 243,120 and NPR 195,120 respectively. Played on a four-day strokeplay format, the top 50 and ties will qualify for the money making rounds (last two rounds) with the last-placed player winning over NPR 20,000.

Nepal’s premier golfer Shivaram Shrestha will be looking to defend his title at the Gokarna Forest Golf Resort. Shivaram, who is now plying his trade on the PGTI, has made a mark in India in recent years and is a force to reckon with. He defeated young Abhijit Singh Chadha in a memorable play-off in the 2013 edition. Incidentally, Abhijit was the defending champion then.  The battle will renew with both of them having confirmed their participation.

The Surya Nepal Pvt. Ltd. Masters boasts of a truly international flavour. Young N Thangaraja of Sri Lanka who is currently ranked 10th on the PGTI Order of Merit, Mohd. Zamal Hossain Mollah of Bangladesh who finished seventh on the PGTI Order of Merit 2013 are amongst a host of visiting players including the Indian contingent led by Shubhankar Sharma who became the youngest professional to win a tournament with the PGTI Cochin Masters victory and is currently ranked fourth on the PGTI’s Rolex Rankings. A host of former winners of the Surya Nepal Pvt. Ltd. Masters including multiple winners on the Indian circuit Mukesh Kumar (winner SNM 2000), Gaurav Ghei (winner SNM 1995), Feroz Ali (winner SNM 1996, 2001), Vijay Kumar (winner SNM 1998), Shamim Khan (winner SNM 2008) and Ashbeer Saini (Winner SNM 2010) will be seen in action. 

Nepal, apart from being a prized tourist destination in Asia also has some of the best golfing facilities, especially the Gokarna Forest Golf Resort. The course which has hosted the Surya Nepal Pvt. Ltd. Masters since 1999 is in pristine condition and boasts of one of the best greens in the sub-continent. The Gleneagles-designed par-72, 6755 yard course offers many challenges in the form of undulating fairways and water bodies which will test the golfers’ accuracy.

About PGTI:

Formed in 2006, Professional Golf Tour of India (PGTI) is the recognised official body of professional golf in India. PGTI's objective is to promote professional golf in the country, as well as to give players an opportunity to be involved in the decision making on all aspects of the game. Headed by Mr. Srinivasan H R (President), PGTI's governing body comprises leading Indian golf professionals. PGTI currently has over 300 members.

For information on PGTI, please contact:

Nikhil Kalaan

Media Manager - PGTI

Mobile: 9910974846

Email: media@pgtofindia.com