Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 22-03-2014

Jeev Milkha Singh nominated for Asian Tour's Player of the Decade award

Jeev Milkha Singh is one of the five nominees for the Asian Tour’s Player of the Decade Award. 

Following its milestone 10th Asian Tour season celebration in 2013, the Asian Tour has created a Player of the Decade award (2004-2013) for which the winner will be announced during the Annual Awards Night in Jakarta on April 22, 2014.
Amongst the top awards which will be presented include the prestigious Order of Merit trophy, Players’ Player of the Year, Special Achievement Award and the various stats categories winners.
Nominees for the Player of the Decade award, which is voted by the Asian Tour members, are former Order of Merit champions Jeev Milkha Singh of India and Thai duo Thongchai Jaidee and Thaworn Wiratchant. Korea’s K.J. Choi and Y.E. Yang, the first male Asian golfer to win a Major title, are the other nominees.
Throughout his illustrious career, Asian Tour honorary member Jeev has won six Asian Tour titles and has also tasted success in Japan and Europe. He won the Order of Merit race in 2006 and 2008. His last international victory came at the Scottish Open in 2012. Jeev achieved his highest world ranking back in 2009 when he went as high as 29. His best performance at a Major was his tied ninth finish at the PGA Championship in 2008.
During the Awards Night, the Asian Tour will also hand out the Special Achievement Award, which is an award given to outstanding services to the game or performance. The nominees are China’s Liang Wen-chong, Scott Hend of Australia, who won three times last season, PGTI member Siddikur Rahman, the first Bangladeshi to play and win on the Asian Tour and Thaworn.
The Stats categories include the Lowest Strong Average, Driving Distance, Driving Accuracy, Birdie Leader, Greens in Regulation and Lowest Putting Average. The Best Golf Course and Best Golf Resort will also be announced during the night as well as the Rookie of the Year award.

About PGTI:

Formed in 2006, Professional Golf Tour of India (PGTI) is the recognised official body of professional golf in India. PGTI's objective is to promote professional golf in the country, as well as to give players an opportunity to be involved in the decision making on all aspects of the game. Headed by Mr. Srinivasan H R (President), PGTI's governing body comprises leading Indian golf professionals. PGTI currently has over 300 members.

For information on PGTI, please contact:

Nikhil Kalaan

Media Manager - PGTI

Mobile: 9910974846

Email: media@pgtofindia.com