Kolkata, 13-02-2024

Arjun Prasad fires 62 for the opening round honours

Defending champ Sachin Baisoya placed second at 63

Delhi-based Arjun Prasad fired an exceptional eight-under 62 to take the opening round honours at the INR 1 crore TATA Steel PGTI Players Championship 2024 presented by Tollygunge Club, the first event of the season.

Defending champion Sachin Baisoya (63), another Delhi golfer, was a shot behind in second place.

The four players bunched in third place with scores of 64 included rookie Stepan Danek of Czech Republic as well as Udayan Mane, Karan Pratap Singh and local lad Mohammad Sanju.

Arjun Prasad, who turned 25 years of age on Monday, made sure he celebrated his birthday in style with a sizzling round of golf on Tuesday that featured two eagles, five birdies and a bogey.

Prasad, who endured a tough season in 2023 due to a wrist injury, picked up four birdies on the front-nine after leaving himself a few short birdie putts. After his bogey on the eighth, Arjun was on a roll once again with two eagles including a chip-in and a birdie between the 10th and the 13th that helped him soar to the top of the leaderboard.     

Arjun said, “It was a pretty solid day for me. I created good chances with the wedges and my putting was on point as I was able to hole a lot of putts. Places where I missed the greens, I was able to make up and downs.

“At this course you need to hit the tee shots well and get in good positions to give yourself more birdie opportunities.”

Sachin Baisoya’s round of 63 featured eight birdies and a bogey.

Manu Gandas, the 2022 PGTI Order of Merit champion, was tied for seventh at 65 along with Rahil Gangjee and four others.


Round 1 Leaderboard:

62: Arjun Prasad

63: Sachin Baisoya

64: Stepan Danek; Udayan Mane; Karan Pratap Singh; Mohammad Sanju

About PGTI:

Formed in 2006, Professional Golf Tour of India (PGTI) is the recognised official body of professional golf in India. PGTI's objective is to promote professional golf in the country, as well as to give players an opportunity to be involved in the decision making on all aspects of the game. Headed by Mr. Srinivasan H R (President), PGTI's governing body comprises leading Indian golf professionals. PGTI currently has over 300 members.

For information on PGTI, please contact:

Nikhil Kalaan

Media Manager - PGTI

Mobile: 9910974846

Email: media@pgtofindia.com