PGTI's Longest-Running Playoffs

The PGTI has witnessed some pulsating playoff encounters over the years. Here we take a look at PGTI’s longest-running playoffs.


6 holes:

Aadil Bedi beat Udayan Mane at Bengal Open 2020 (Tollygunge Club, Kolkata)

This face-off between teenager Aadil Bedi and Udayan Mane set the record for the longest-running playoff on the PGTI. The edge-of-the-seat encounter saw both contenders match each other shot for shot. However, Aadil displayed maturity beyond his years and nerves of steel to keep himself in the contest. Bedi sank a 35-footer for birdie on the third extra hole and a 10-footer for par on the fourth extra hole. Mane also had his moments as he too drained a tricky seven-footer for birdie on the third extra hole. Finally, it was Aadil who came through with a sensational chip-in for birdie on the sixth extra hole.


4 holes:

Ajeetesh Sandhu beat Rashid Khan at Jeev Milkha Singh Invitational 2019 Presented by TAKE Solutions (Chandigarh Golf Club)

The see-saw battle saw Rashid Khan make an unbelievable 30-feet par putt on the first extra hole where Ajeetesh Sandhu too came up with an excellent approach from the rough. On the second hole, Rashid’s putt lipped-out from eight feet to deny him victory. At last, on the fourth extra hole, Ajeetesh won the battle of nerves at his home course as he made par while Rashid’s challenge faded away as he found the water hazard with his approach.


Chikkarangappa S beat C Muniyappa at Delhi-NCR Open 2019 (Noida Golf Course)

On the first three playoff holes there were no birdie opportunities created by the two Bengalureans. Then, Chikkarangappa produced a moment of brilliance on the fourth extra hole with a superb wedge shot from 150 yards that landed seven feet from the flag. Muniyappa stumbled on the fourth as his approach missed the green and the subsequent chip was way short of the hole. Chikka went on to birdie the hole and win the title.


N Thangaraja beat Vijay Kumar at PGTI Players Championship, Noida 2013 (Noida Golf Course)

Sri Lankan N Thangaraja and former Indian Open champion Vijay Kumar made pars on the first three playoff holes. Thangaraja finally won the fascinating contest on the fourth playoff hole as he made an excellent chip-putt for par while Vijay missed a five-footer for par.

About PGTI:

Formed in 2006, Professional Golf Tour of India (PGTI) is the recognised official body of professional golf in India. PGTI's objective is to promote professional golf in the country, as well as to give players an opportunity to be involved in the decision making on all aspects of the game. Headed by Mr. Gautam Thapar (President), PGTI's governing body comprises leading Indian golf professionals. PGTI currently has over 300 members.

For information on PGTI, please contact:

Nikhil Kalaan

Media Manager - PGTI

Mobile: 9910974846

Email: media@pgtofindia.com