TUE Committee

Dr. Abdul Wahab Al-Musleh


Dr. Abdul Wahab Al Musleh, MD, FRCSI, CABS, EMDM, is the Deputy Medical Director at Hamad Medical Corporation and the Director of Hamad International Training Centre. He is an active member in many clinical and administrative committees throughout HMC and other organizations nationally. He is a member of the National Permanent Emergency Committee, member of International Health Regulations Committee, and chaired the Medical and Anti-Doping program of all Mega sport events in the country. He is a standing member of the Medical and Anti-Doping Committee of the Olympic Council of Asia and the Medical and Anti-Doping Committee of the Union of Arab National Olympic committee. He graduated from Royal college of Surgeon in Ireland in 1988, obtained his FRCS and Arab board Certificate in Surgery in 1993 and appointed as Chairman of Emergency Department in 1997.

Major General (Dr) Cheldivah Thurairaja
Member - Sports Medicine

Dr. C. Thurairaja, a retired Major General of the Army and a versatile sportsman and doctor, has made another first when he became the first Sri Lankan to be appointed to lead the Asian Federation of Sports Medicine (AFSM). Dr. C Thurairaja was the Founder President of AFSM and has been the Vice President of AFSM since 1998 and is one of the longest standing executive committee members of the AFSM. He is also an Ex Co Member and a Fellow of the International Federation of Sports Medicine and in the Sri Lanka Sports Medicine Association (SLSMA). He continues to be a key Ex Co member responsible for developing and initiating the Post Graduate Programs such as the Diploma in Sports Medicine, which is implemented through the Board of Study in Sports Medicine of the Post Graduate Institute of Medicine, University of Colombo. During his career as a doctor he served as a Consultant Radiologist, Medical Advisor and Director of Medical Services in Army and is a leading Sports Physician. He represented Sri Lanka at National level in golf, basketball, rugby and badminton. Also played Sara Trophy cricket and tennis at Nationals, in addition been the Asian Games team contingent captain having played two sports, basketball and golf at Asian Games. He is also the Chairman National Olympic Committee (NOC) Medical Committee that has conducted IOC, NOC and NOC SLSMA Sports Medicine Courses for doctors.

Prof. (Dr.) S.K. Sharma
Member - Internal Medicines

(Former Head Medicine Department AIIMS Delhi)

Dr. S. K. Sharma was the chair of the Department of Medicine at AIIMS, New Delhi. He has made outstanding research contributions in the area of pulmonary medicine for the last three decades. His seminal contributions in the field of TB, sarcoidosis, bronchial asthma, and obstructive sleep apnea are internationally recognized. He has published 309 papers in various national and international journals. In the capacity of chair of the National Task Force on the Involvement of Medical Colleges in the TB Control Programme of India (2002-2011), he has been responsible for the implementation of DOTS in all of India's medical colleges. Dr. Sharma has edited several books (Tuberculosis; two volumes of Advances in Respiratory Medicine, first edition [2008]; and the second edition by Davidson's Clinical Cases in Medicine, the first edition of which was awarded First Prize of the British Medical Association in 2009). He has received numerous awards: four ICMR awards, including the Basanti Devi Amir Chand Award; the Saroj-Jyoti Award (twice); the Hari Om Ashram Alembic Award; the Ranbaxy Research Award; the Lupin Chest Oration Award; the Rabindranath Tagore Oration; the Searle Oration; the Dr. Devi Chand Memorial Gold Medal Oration; and the VR Joshi JAPI Award for Outstanding Referee. Dr. Sharma is editor of the Indian Journal of Chest Diseases and Allied Sciences, executive editor and section editor of the pulmonology section of A.P.I. Textbook of Medicine (ninth edition), section editor of the Textbook on Clinical Pharmacology, associate editor of the Indian Journal of Tuberculosis, and editorial board member of Chest. He is an expert member of several task forces in ICMR; the Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology; the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare; and the National Institute of Immunology. He is chair of several committees in the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare. He has been the recipient of various fellowships and is an elected member of the Faculty Council of the Indian College of Physicians.

Office In-charge

Mr. Vatan Kotlia